James Demmel

Professor James Demmel

James Demmel received his B.S. in Mathematics from Caltech in 1975 and his Ph.D. in Computer Science from UC Berkeley in 1983. After spending six years on the faculty of the Courant Institute, New York University, he joined the Computer Science Division and Mathematics Departments at Berkeley in 1990, where he holds joint appointments. Professor Demmel is an ACM Fellow, a SIAM Fellow, an IEEE Fellow, and a member of both the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences. He has also won the IEEE Computer Society Sydney Fernbach Award for "computational science leadership in creating adaptive, innovative, high performance linear algebra software."

Work Experience

  • Computer Science Division Chair, and EECS Associate Chair, UC Berkeley
  • Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Dr. Richard Carl Dehmel Distinguished Professor
  • Former Chief Scientist of CITRIS, the Center for Information Technology Research in the Interest of Society


  • B.S., Mathematics, Caltech, 1975
  • Ph.D., Computer Science, UC Berkeley, 1983

Awards, Honors, and Significant Achievements

  • SIAG on Supercomputing Best Paper Prize, 2016 (with L. Grigori, M. Hoemmen, J. Langou)
  • AAAS Fellow, 2015
  • ACM Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award, 2014
  • IPDPS Charles Babbage Award, 2013
  • AMS Fellow, 2012
  • SIAG on Linear Algebra Prize (2012, with G. Ballard, O. Holtz. O. Schwartz; 1991, with W. Kahan; 1988)
  • National Academy of Sciences, 2011
  • Sidney Fernbach Award, 2010
  • SIAM Fellow, 2009
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award in Computer Sciences and Engineering, UC Berkeley, 2004
  • Invited Speaker, International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM), 2003
  • Invited Speaker, International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM), 2002
  • IEEE Fellow, 2001
  • National Academy of Engineering, 1999
  • ACM Fellow, 1999
  • NSF-CBMS Lecturer on Parallel Numerical Linear Algebra, San Francisco, 1995
  • J. H. Wilkinson Prize in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing, 1993
  • Presidential Young Investigator Award, 1986
  • IBM Faculty Development Award, 1985