Scott Shenker Receives 2017 ACM Paris Kanellakis Award

Scott Shenker

ACM announced the winners of four prestigious awards, and ICSI's Chief Scientist Scott Shenker is the receipient of the 2017 ACM Paris Kanallakis Theory and Practice Award.

David Patterson Wins Turing Award

Dave PattersonBoard member emeritus and retired UC Berkeley Professor David Patterson has been awarded the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award along with John L. Hennessy, former President of Stanford University.

Networking and Security researcher Johanna Amann wins Community Contribution Award at ACM IMC 2017

ICSI researcher Johanna Amann, along with co-authors Oliver Gasser, Quirin Scheitle, Lexi Brent, Georg Carle, and Ralph Holz won the Community Contribution Award for their work on " Mission Accomplished?

Paper on Detecting Spearfishing Awarded Facebook's Internet Defense Prize

The paper “Detecting Credential Spearphishing Attacks in Enterprise Settings” won Facebook’s Internet Defense Prize at the USENIX Security Symposium in Vancouver, BC. Co-author Vern Paxson is head of networking at security research at ICSI.

50th Anniversary of Turing Award

Richard M. KarpThis year marks 50 years of the ACM A.M. Turing Award, the highest distinction in computer science, often regarded as the "Nobel Prize of Computing."

Study: Many free Android VPN apps not secure

A recent study by researchers at CSIRO, ICSI, UC Berkeley, and University of New South Wales showed that many free Android VPN apps are not actually secure. The study looked at close to 300 apps, and found that 84% leaked traffic, while 18% didn't use encryption at all. Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez, a scientist at ICSI and IMDEA who is a co-author of the study, was not surprised by the results, and in fact told The Verge that "the shocking fact was that people trust this kind of technology."

Vision Researchers Win Best Paper Award at Electronic Imaging 2017 Conference

Vision Researchers Stella Yu, Marius Pedersen, and Seyed Ali Amirshahi won the best paper award for their work on "Image Quality Assessment by Comparing CNN Features between Images (JIST-first)" at this year's Electronic Imaging Conference's Image Quality and System Performance track in Burlingame, California.

DTL Interviews with Irwin Reyes and Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez

ICSI researchers Irwin Reyes and Narseo Vallina-Rodriguez were recently interviewed at Data Transparency Labs 2016.