David Patterson Wins Turing Award


David Patterson

Board member emeritus and retired UC Berkeley Professor David Patterson has been awarded the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award along with John L. Hennessy, former President of Stanford University. They pioneered a "a systematic, quantitative approach to the design and evaluation of computer architectures with enduring impact on the microprocessor industry" that led to faster, more energy efficient microprocessors called reduced instruction set computer (RISC) microprocessors, which are used in 99% of modern microprocessors.

The Turing Award is considered to be the Nobel Prize in computer science, and is named for renowned British mathemetician Alan M. Turing.