Nelson Morgan and Herve Bourlard to Receive 2022 IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award

Nelson Morgan and Herve Bourlard 2022 James L. Flanagan Award

Prof. Nelson Morgan, former director and current board member of ICSI, and Prof. Hervé Bourlard, a former ICSI collaborator, board member, and frequent visitor, will be honored with the 2022 IEEE James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award for contributions to neural networks for statistical speech recognition. This award is given annually for an outstanding contribution to the advancement of speech and/or audio signal processing.

In an email to Morgan and Bourlard, Susan K. Land, current IEEE President and CEO, said "For nearly a century, the IEEE Awards Program has paid tribute to technical professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and the engineering profession. Each year the IEEE Awards Board recommends a select group of recipients to receive IEEE's most prestigious honors, so you can feel justifiably proud."

Morgan and Bourlard collaborated for decades on speech recognition and speech processing research. Prof. Jerome Feldman was ICSI's director when Morgan began working at ICSI. According to Prof. Feldman, "Morgan was the first hire as a group leader at ICSI and led our efforts in neural networks, computer architecture, and speech recognition. His work with Hervé and the many students and post-docs at ICSI has been a cornerstone of our research and international cooperation." Morgan eventually became ICSI's Director, and Bourlard became the director of IDIAP in Switzerland. Numerous research collaborations between the two friends and their respective research institutes resulted in a lasting impact on the field of speech recognition and neural networks. ICSI congratulates Prof. Morgan and Prof. Bourlard on their accomplishments and being recognized with the James L. Flanagan Speech and Audio Processing Award.

More information about this and other IEEE technical awards can be found at